6 Comments

I Got Covered

quran bismillah

 

 

 

“In the name of Allah, most Gracious, most Compassionate”

I was left astounded when I reviewed through a video where a person spoke about Islam as a religion of oppression. The point he raised was, that Islam wraps a women with Hijab whereas a woman is free to live the way she wants to.

Sounds funny? eh? =D It sounded the same to me ๐Ÿ™‚ The literal meaning of Islam is to surrender. To surrender before the Higher Power, The Force, The All-Knowing – Allah. His argument was that women are enslaved in Islam. The idea he wanted to impart was that women of substance are those who move around uncovered. He was talking about his society where women are given there fundamental rights and they live the way they want to. In all this discussion he forgot or maybe deliberately overlooked the point that he was reflecting a society where the rate of molestation are the greatest. A society where women are treated as objects of ridicule. A society where women are abused for the sake of their bodies.

If these are the rights of women in that society, I’m better being covered or OPPRESSED (according to him).

Islam – The religion of peace, has come down as a mere blessing on the people of this world. Islam has freed us from the shackles of slavery. It has saved us from the plight of ignorance. It has shown us the light that leads to the Jannah. This religion of peace, has served the humanity with the purpose they were made for.

When I came to wearing Hijab, I was confronted by a million and a half questions. Questions like, how will I look in it? Will people consider me conservative? What will my family say about me wearing Hijab? Will my friends accept me this way? and the list goes on and on. These questions were bombarded by Satan on my side. The decision to take Hijab was a turning point. No one in the family wore it ever before, so I was reluctant to take the initiative.

A voice from within rose up and said,

“You’ve spent so many years in negligence. You never felt shy or shameful when NOT wearing hijab. You didn’t feel ashamed of disobeying your Lord and His commandments which were sent down as His favor on you. And now on wearing hijab you are questioning yourself. You are questioning yourself when you are doing something right? Why is it that doing something right is causing more complications in your heart than doing evil?”

That day I realized who was more worthy to me. It wasn’t my Lord I was actually in love with. I never loved Him. I loved Allah because my parents wanted me to love Him. I was raised that way. My heart never accepted Him as my only love. Dunya was love for me. ย Deception, illusion were my love, but not the one Who deserved all this love in reality. Reality was far beyond my vision. I was a loser. A lost soul with barely no insight. I was denying reality. In all this quest, I forgot that denying the reality doesn’t make it less real. It were the people I was running after to please, to impress and to show off what I’ve got. ย The feeling toppled the state of my heart. That was the day when I actually started falling in love with my Lord. It was the Real Love, The Real Thing – REALITY. He gathered me when I was torn. He was my refuge in the worst of circumstances. He stood by me and strengthened my faith with every passing calamity. That day I promised myself to clad up with this gift of modesty – Hijab, that He has bestowed upon me as His mighty favor.

Since that day till now, Hijab has become my strength. It segregates me with the non-Muslim women. It reflects my identity to the world. Allah says in The Holy Qura’an;

Surah an-Nur ayah 31 says:

Wa qul li al-mu’minat yaghdudna min absarihinna wa yahfazna furujahunna wa laa yubdina zenatahunna illa maa zahara min haa wal-yadribna bi khumurihinna ala juyubihinna; wa laa yubdina zenatahunna illa li bu’ulatihinna aw aba’ihinna aw aba’i bu’ulatihinna aw abna’ihinna aw abna’i bu’ulatihinna aw ikhwanihinna aw bani ikhwanihinna aw bani akhawatihinna aw nisa’ihinna aw maa malakat aymanu hunna aw at-tabi’ina ghayri ulu’l-irbat min ar-rijal aw at-tifl alladhina lam yazharu ala awrat an-nisa wa laa yadribna bi arjulihinna li yu’lama maa yukhfina min zenatahinna. Wa tubu ilaAllahi jami’an, ayyuha al-mu’minun la’allakum tuflihun

And say to the faithful women to lower their gazes, and to guard their private parts, and not to display their beauty except what is apparent of it, and to extend their headcoverings (khimars) to cover their bosoms (jaybs), and not to display their beauty except to their husbands, or their fathers, or their husband’s fathers, or their sons, or their husband’s sons, or their brothers, or their brothers’ sons, or their sisters’ sons, or their womenfolk, or what their right hands rule (slaves), or the followers from the men who do not feel sexual desire, or the small children to whom the nakedness of women is not apparent, and not to strike their feet (on the ground) so as to make known what they hide of their adornments. And turn in repentance to Allah together, O you the faithful, in order that you are successful

Allah further says in the Glorious Qura’an;

Surah al-Ahzab ayah 59 says:

Ya ayyuha an-Nabiyy qul li azwajika wa banatika wa nisa al-mu’minin yudnina alayhinna min jalabib hinna; dhalika adna an yu’rafna fa laa yu’dhayn. Wa kana Allahu Ghafur Rahim

O Prophet! Say to your wives and your daughters and the women of the faithful to draw their outergarments (jilbabs) close around themselves; that is better that they will be recognized and not annoyed. And God is ever Forgiving, Gentle.

I don’t consider myself worthy enough to give out a message but I would still feel it worth mentioning that Sisters, please start covering yourself. We as women, our status, our dignity, our modesty all roots down to our character. Islam has liberated the stature of women. Women were considered as an object of ridicule in the era of Jahiliyah. Allah (SWT) liberated our worth through Islam. We were no more than a show piece to the world out there, but it was Islam that empowered us. It was Islam that liberated our status. Allah has rested Jannah under the feet of a women. We are the bearers of the future generations. We frame the society. We are ranked so high, yet we don’t ponder. Covering your bodies will save you and the world from the Fitnah that is flaring around you. Let not drown your status with ill and evil acts. Let not ruin your identity with the filth of this world. How long will you live? Death is after us. You can’t escape it. Where on Earth will you go to seek for refuge from death? Fear Allah sisters. Guard yourself, guard your modesty. Be the best to your Lord. If you are the ones who are Best to your Lord, your daily matters will become Allah’s affairs. And you will be rewarded in bulks in this life and the life hereafter.

6 comments on “I Got Covered

  1. Fascinating blog! I am very interested in the views of muslimwomen about their own rights. The discussion has been present in Holland as well for some time now, some stating that wearing a niqaab or a hijab is indeed supressing. Would you, if you have the time, be willing to write something personal about your choice to wear a hijab for my blog? I have only just started and would love to have people writing about their lives every once in a while. Only if you feel like it, of course. Please keep writing this way and greetings,

    Fleur.

Leave a Reply

